NBA Finals

The NBA Finals is the yearly championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference winners play a best-of-seven game series to ascertain the league champion. The winners of the Finals are awarded the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was initially Called the BAA Finals prior to the 1949—50 year when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) merged with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The contest oversaw further name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, in addition to a short stint as the Showdown, before settling NBA Finals in 1986. [1] The NBA Finals was originally ordered at a 2—2—1—1—1 format. Back in 1985, to alleviate the amount of cross-country travel, it was changed into a 2—3—2 format, where the first two and final two games of the series have been played in the arena of the group who earned home-court advantage by having the better record during the regular season. In 2014, the 2—2—1—1—1 structure was restored. The first two games are played the higher-seeded team’s home, the subsequent two in the home of this lower-seeded team, along with the rest three are played at each team’s home arena alternately. [2] A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics maintain the record for the many victories, having won the contest 17 times, as well as the most consecutive titles, winning 8 occasions from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the most times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the most winners, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Convention has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more:

Author: pto